MAY 2022
From Ben Eastick, new Competitions Captain (pictured above)

I feel honoured to be accepting the role of Competitions Captain, following in the footsteps of my father, Barry, and many other illustrious Bentley racing members.
Main areas of focus
There are three key objectives I would like to achieve during my tenure as Comps Captain.
Firstly, I would like the Comps Committee to fully investigate the possibility of the Club racing Continental GTs (pictured below, Simon Worthington), the potential of which could bring a younger membership out racing in more affordable Bentleys. Much of this work has already been undertaken by the committee.

Secondly, I would like to tap into the pool of Mk VI Specials (pictured below, Chris Townsend) that are already built as they can be easily converted for circuit use.

And lastly, I would like to get the average age of Club Members competing in Bentleys down in order to preserve the future of the club’s racing.
‘Champions’ announced
We have introduced three ‘champions’ to the Comps Committee to represent their area of knowledge, expertise and contacts, to try and encourage more people to compete with their Bentleys. So if you have any specific questions regarding your model of car, please contact one of the following:
James Morley – Vintage (07732 777894,
Paul Forty – Mk VI Specials (07971 806046,
Simon Worthington – moderns (07712 596959,
Sprint update
Despite the loss of our MIRA sprint, the Comps Committee is working hard in establishing a suitable replacement for 2023. While Curborough is a challenging course, spoilt somewhat by the awful weather last year, the course is not really suitable for stretching the legs of Bentleys. However, AMOC has kindly given us a class at its Curborough meeting as an interim for this season.
BDC nominated event 2022
The Club’s nominated hill climb this year is Harewood (pictured below, Paul Forty) on the weekend of 4-5 June, which should suit our northern and Scottish contingent.

Both these meetings will count towards the Club’s fabulous and historic annual awards and trophies.

BDC Silverstone 2022
The BDC celebrates its 74th annual race meeting at Silverstone (pictured below) on Saturday 13 August, the Club’s biggest event of the year and a rare chance to see the eclectic mix of racing Bentleys of all ages. Bentley Motors will again be supporting this event with its very own Heritage Collection.
For more details on BDC Silverstone, click here.

Recent competition activity
Recently Club Members were out competing at the MRL Donington Historic Festival, VSCC Cadwell Park, the HSCC Jim Russell Trophy meeting at Snetterton, the Goodwood Members’ Meeting and the VSCC Curborough Speed Trials.
Oliver Llewellyn (pictured below) narrowly picked up the inter-Club spoils as the first BDC driver home in another hugely nail-biting Mad Jack race for Pre-War Sports Cars at Donington (30 April-1 May).

The 2019 BDC Racing Driver of the Year, piloting his usual 4½ Litre, made up five places over his grid slot in the 45-minute race, and finished just 1.5 seconds shy of fourth place.
The battle was even more exciting between Ewen Getley and James Morley, the former taking the flag just half a bonnet ahead of the latter. Ewen had managed to leapfrog the Morley car at the driver changes after James’ father Clive – the current BDC Racing Driver of the Year – had carved out an advantage.
Richard Hudson and Stuart Morley, sharing the former’s 3/4½ Litre, came home a frustrated ninth after being scuppered by the Safety Car and losing a lap to their Bentley rivals. Stuart had qualified as the quickest Bentley driver, fifth on the grid.
Eight Bentleys made up the well-subscribed 25-car grid, with Club trio Paul Pochciol (3/4½), Steve Ward (4½) and Jock Mackinnon (3 Litre) finishing 17th, 18th and 19th. Hugh Apthorp (3/4½) retired at one-quarter distance. Meanwhile, Richard Frankel (MG K3 Magnette) was classified 16th.
RAC Woodcote Trophy & Stirling Moss Trophy for pre-’56 and pre-’61 Sports Cars: RAC Woodcote Trophy: 2nd: Ben Eastick/Karl Jones (Jaguar D-Type), 8th: Paul Pochciol (Jaguar C-Type), 14th: Josh Ward (Frazer Nash Le Mans Replica); Stirling Moss Trophy: 12th: Richard Hudson/Stuart Morley (Lister Chevy Knobbly).

*  Alistair Littlewood (pictured below) enjoyed a good start to the new season when he scored a victory and a runners-up spot at the VSCC meeting at Cadwell Park (16 April).

In father Mike’s 3/4½ Litre, he won the Allcomers Handicap race by 13.43 secs. Alistair had started the race with a 20-second deficit.
Earlier, Alistair had finished second to a flying Stuart Morley (3/4½ Litre) in the Allcomers Scratch race. Pole-sitter Stuart, who also set fastest lap, overcame a 10-second penalty for a jump start to triumph by 12 secs.
Clive Morley (3/4½ Litre) set fastest lap of the day among the BDC brigade when finishing seventh in the Vintage Seaman, Historic Seaman & Flockhart Trophies race for Vintage & Pre-1966 racing cars.
*  Mk VI Special duo Chris Townsend and Vernon Moore finished seventh and eighth, respectively, in the C&MMC Classic Challenge at the HSCC Jim Russell Trophy meeting at Snetterton (23 April).
*  Several Club runners, albeit in marques other than Bentleys, competed at the 79th Goodwood Members’ Meeting.
AFP Fane Trophy: 5th: Julian Grimwade (Frazer Nash Norris Special), 20th: Chris Batty (Frazer Nash Bugatti); Peter Collins Trophy: 8th: Martin Hunt (HWM-Jaguar), 15th: Katarina Kyvalova (Cooper-Jaguar); Varzi Trophy: 9th: Bill Cleyndert (Bugatti Type 35C); Gerry Marshall Trophy: Martin Overington (16th and 20th).
*  Julian Grimwade (Frazer Nash Single Seater) also set the fastest overall time in the Curborough Trophy at the VSCC Curborough Speed Trials (1 May).

Don’t forget to keep an eye on the updated Motorsport section here on the Club website – for the latest news on Bentleys in action throughout the year. Click here.

Join us Today

Meet fellow Bentley lovers, enjoy the drive and share the fun

Become a member

Stay Connected

Join our newsletter to receive news, updates and discounts