Special award for Ken Lea

Tuesday 20th July, 2021

By Stuart Newman

Former Director honoured at Club AGM

Long-serving Member Ken Lea was delighted to receive a special award at the Club's AGM at the Clubhouse in Wroxton on Saturday.

Ken (pictured), a former BDC Deputy Chairman and current Chairman of the WO Bentley Memorial Foundation, received a superb scale model of his 1992 Turbo R following his retirement as a Club Director and in appreciation of his many years of service to the BDC.

The various Competitions (covering the 2020 season) and Meritorious (for 2019 & 2020) award winners were also announced.

Among the Meritorious Award winners, Past Club Chairman Ron Warmington received the Stanley Sedgwick Trophy for leading the organisation of the Club’s hugely successful Concours d’Elegance at Blenheim Palace in 2019, which saw a world-record gathering of 1,300 Bentleys, while Michael Müllmann was recognised for his efforts in founding the Germany Region, which he loyally served as Chairman for 10 years. And Ken was also rewarded with the Whitlock Trophy for the key role he played in the outstanding Corniche restoration project.

Following pre-meeting voting, all those existing Directors nominated for re-election were duly returned, along with President Duncan Wiltshire and Chairman Richard Parkinson who jointly presided over the meeting.

With a limit on how many Members could attend the AGM at Wroxton, in adherence with the Government's Covid-19 restrictions, the meeting was also successfully streamed via Zoom – a first for the Club. 

Bentley Bust (for very special contributions to Club): Michael Müllmann – services to German Region
Bentley Drivers Club Trophy (outstanding service to the Club): Callum McKay – organising Mid-West Welsh Weekend and services to Mid-West Committee
Stanley Sedgwick Trophy (outstanding contribution in organisation of Club event/activity): Ron Warmington – leading organisation of the Concours d’Elegance at Blenheim Palace
Peter Yarwood Memorial Trophy (best motoring trip outside UK for Club Members): Michael Hood, Western Australia – organising Centenary Tour to Tassie
David Smith Memorial Trophy (significant contribution to events involving 3 Litres): Nigel Myers – organising 3 Litre Weekend
Whitlock Trophy (attaining the best technical achievement): Ken Lea – masterminding Corniche restoration project
Messervy Trophy (best single performance in driving a Bentley in any form of motoring): Graham & Marina Goodwin – winning Vintage class on Peking to Paris Motor Challenge
Richard Sanders Trophy (WOBMF award for literary effort): Will Morrison – Foundation Corner articles in Review
Inter-Regional Team Challenge Driving Test Competition (Regional Weekend incorporating most innovative and challenging routes): North-West Regional Concours

Frank Clement Memorial Trophy (Racing Driver of the Year): Clive Morley
Times Challenge Trophy (BDC Silverstone – 1st overall, Bentley Scratch race): Michael Higginbotham
Mike Bradley Trophy (BDC Silverstone – 1st overall, Bentley Handicap race): Richard Frankel
DM Eastick Memorial Trophy (most deserving competitor): Vivian Bush
Stan Terry Marshals Award: Jon Moreira

Join us Today

Meet fellow Bentley lovers, enjoy the drive and share the fun

Become a member

Stay Connected

Join our newsletter to receive news, updates and discounts