Ben Eastick named Racing Driver of the Year

The inaugural BDC Competitions Dinner took place in the Committee Room at the coveted Royal Automobile Club in London’s Pall Mall on 23 November.

The evening marked marks a long-held ambition by the Club to hold an annual dinner to celebrate the achievements of Members racing Bentleys over the previous 12 months. The spirit of this prestigious black-tie event took its inspiration from the Le Mans celebration dinner for Bentley Boys and Girls held at the Savoy Hotel in 1927.

Competitions members past and present were in attendance to enjoy a congenial evening with a champagne reception followed by a three-course dinner featuring an opening welcome speech by Club Chairman Phillip Hine. 

During coffee, Competitions Captain Ben Eastick spoke about the year gone by and updated the gathering on future Competitions plans. He also thanked all drivers and teams for the great turnout on the night, and especially at BDC Silverstone last August.

Club President Duncan Wiltshire, the latter who acted as MC for the evening, and Phillip (pictured above) joined Ben on the floor for a short questions and answers discussion, while guest Philip Strickland updated the gathering on the proposed venue for the Club sprint.

The President later announced the lucky recipients of 15 of the Club’s most significant motorsport trophies (see below), handed out by a glamorously attired Alexandra Eastick.

In recognition of his excellent performances at BDC Silverstone, including winning the Bentley scratch race (Times Challenge Trophy) for the second successive year, the recipient of the Frank Clement Memorial Trophy for Racing Driver of the Year was Ben Eastick (pictured top). 

Ben earned the lion’s share of the spoils on the night taking away five trophies while Oliver Llewellyn, winner of the BDC handicap race, claimed four.

And the ever enthusiastic Richard Hudson (pictured above) claimed the DM Eastick Memorial merit trophy for the Most Deserving Competitor over the course of the season.

Those Club Members who had decided to stay overnight in London later adjourned to the famous Long Bar for a night cap or two to discuss all things Bentley before retiring to bed at a very modest 1am, Thursday being a working day or course...

The response to the evening was one full of enthusiasm, upholding the core traditions of the Bentley Drivers Club – so expect this fabulous social occasion to continue in future.
Frank Clement Memorial (Racing Driver of the Year): Ben Eastick 
DM Eastick Memorial (Most Deserving Competitor): Richard Hudson

BDC Scratch race
Times Challenge (1st overall): Ben Eastick
Jack Barclay Memorial (1st Vintage Bentley): Oliver Llewellyn 
Rivers-Fletcher Challenge (1st Vintage 3 Litre): Duncan Wiltshire 
Gerald Crozier Memorial (1st Crewe V8/W12 Bentley): Ben Eastick
Bob Bradley (1st Crewe 6-cylinder Bentley): Nigel Angus

BDC Handicap race
Mike Bradley (1st Bentley): Oliver Llewellyn
Tim Birkin (1st Vintage Bentley): Oliver Llewellyn
Derby Crewe Challenge (1st Derby/Crewe Bentley): Vernon Moore

BDC Scratch & Handicap races combined
Gordon Alexander Memorial (1st Vintage Bentley): Oliver Llewellyn
Corniche (1st Crewe Bentley): Vernon Moore

BDC Open race
Mike Haig (1st Bentley): Ben Eastick

Lagonda (fastest Bentley lap): Ben Eastick

Antwerp Motor Union: John Scanlon (not present)

Images: Courtesy of Phillipa Wiltshire

For more awards images, please see the February 2023 issue of Review.

Ben Eastick
Competitions Captain


Join us Today

Meet fellow Bentley lovers, enjoy the drive and share the fun

Become a member

Stay Connected

Join our newsletter to receive news, updates and discounts